Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. Library members, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or 204-753-2496 for logon information.
Academic Search Premier – is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Auto Repair Reference Center covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ.
BookBrowse – BookBrowse is an online magazine and website that provides book reviews, author interviews, book previews, and reading guides. The magazine is independent of publishers and does not sell books that it reviews. The site offers both free and premium content that is available by subscription.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. The web site also includes links to the Youth Encyclopedia of Canada and Encyclopedia of Music in Canada. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre – is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides information on more than 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: environment, health, human rights, crime, race, technology, substance abuse, and many more.
Canadian Reference Centre – combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full-text content available to Canadian libraries. Includes leading Canadian and international (US & UK) periodicals, full-text reference books, over 87,900 full-text biographies and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags; updated on a daily basis.
EBSCOhost periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc.
Explora and Explora Primary Canada – EBSCO’s interface for schools and public libraries, supporting both student research and classroom instruction.
Home Improvements Reference Center – A definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. This comprehensive resource contains over 25 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images. Additionally, the database contains full-text magazines.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
MasterFILE Premier – provides full text for nearly 17,000 periodicals as far back as 1975; also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents including an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags; updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Middle Search Plus – provides full text for more than 140 popular middle-school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays and a School Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
NNELS Books in accessible formats for Canadians with print disabilities; produced by request, delivered by public libraries, and available across the country.
NoveList Plus – A comprehensive readers’ advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next?
Primary Search – provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full-text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles); information dates as far back as 1990.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered.